Blood for album: Axel Boman “Family Vacation”

Axel-Boman-Family-Vacation-LP

My hero finally released his debut album on Stockholm-based label Studio Barnhus, which Boman runs together with Kornél Kovács and Petter Nordkvist. I like artists to speak themselves about their music: “I decided to go through the vast collection of ideas and sketches I had on my computer, as a final project before I set that machine on fire and let it all go up in flames, kind of like what Lee “Scratch” Perry did with The Black Ark in Kingston in the ’70s. A friend says the album sounds like ‘weird Jamaican space disco,’ so maybe it’s a fitting reference.” My loudest applauses goes to the placid, glimmering “Fantastic Piano” and “Hello“. By the way, recently Axel teamed up with John Talabot under the name Talaboman for a track called “Sideral,” which has been included on Talabot’s forthcoming DJ-Kicks. I am very pleased to have an opportunity to stand behind the decks in one of Talabot’s DJ-Kicks release tour event in Vilnius at club “Opium“. Beautiful album with nice coincidence.

Leave a comment